Total Pageviews

Saturday, August 20, 2011


Welcome my 187th (actually 188, as Google counted failed to count one) country:


«  Previous Country | Next Country  »   Back to Flag Counter Overview
Mayotte was ceded to France along with the other islands of the Comoros group in 1843. It was the only island in the archipelago that voted in 1974 to retain its link with France and forego independence. In March 2009, Mayotte voted overwhelmingly to become France's 101st department - and fifth overseas department - a change scheduled to become official in 2011.

Map data ©2011 MapLink, Tele Atlas - Terms of Use

Actually, many of these latest additions are not United Nations countries.  However, who cares.

Honest, now, how many of you heard of Mayotte, and, further, that it is a French overseas department, like La Reunion?

The country is mostly Muslim, and while French is the national language, only about a third speak it.


No comments: