Total Pageviews

Monday, July 25, 2016

SOLAR IMPULSE 2 COMPLETES AROUND THE WORLD FLIGHT ONLY USING SUNPOWER


We flew 40,000km without fuel, a first for energy! 

Emotions, tears, relief, exhilaration is running through the team right now after completing the first Round-the-World solar flight. Bertrand Piccard touched down for one last smooth landing at 00:05 UTC, 2:05AM CEST on July 26th and 8:05PM EDT on July 25th in Al Bateen Executive Airport, Abu Dhabi after 48 hours of flight from Cairo, Egypt. The solar airplane has now made it full circle around the world, proving that clean technologies can really achieve the impossible.
Against most odds, Solar Impulse 2 did it.  While the planned five month trip took more than 16 months,  I'm impressed.

Bertrand Piccard and Andres Bromberg alternated in completing a global journey that rivals the Wright Brothers.  I worried when they were stuck in Hawaii for several months.  But they prevailed.  Now, all we need is a cost-effective commercial hydrogen jetliner to replace aviation as we know it, for a solar-powered plane will never be able to take 500 occupants round the world in a day.
-

No comments: