Total Pageviews

Saturday, July 23, 2016

SOLAR IMPULSE 2 BEGINS FINAL FLIGHT

Just got the following notice:

Solar Impulse took off for the last leg on the round-the-world solar flight

We are now attempting the last leg of the round-the-world solar flight. Don’t miss out. Bertrand Piccard took off from Cairo, Egypt at 11:28PM UTC on July 23rd and 1:28AM CEST, 7:28PM EDT on July 24th. (Watch the video) It hasn’t been easy for the mission engineers to find a favorable window and it’s looking like a real exploration flight ahead, as we are facing new flight conditions: extreme heat, updrafts and downdrafts.

Don’t miss your chance to witness this flight! If you have previously postponed watching one of these flights, this is your last chance! We have prepared an entire live experience for you with a TV show including important interviews, essential information, and a virtual cockpit where you can follow the flight path, energy level, pilot’s vitals, all on solarimpulse.com.
Take-off was at 1:28 PM Hawaii time, or 7:28PM EDT.  The expectation is touchdown in Abu Dhabi around 3AM, before the Sun rises, Tuesday, July 24, Abu Dhabi time.


-

No comments: